Summer Child

by Gela

tumblr_mbue8uTmK31rdikavo1_400

I am forever a Summer child.

I am the girl you will find with love in her eyes and flowers in her hair. It’s not to imply that the famous song was written about me—wait scratch that what if it is? You just need to believe in whatever you want to believe in.

Stop the negativity and focus on the positive.

If that previous sentiment isn’t enough to explain, I’ll tell you that it feels like. I become this whole different person when Summertime comes around. I get ecstatic to wake up every morning and smell the fresh dew on the grass and feel the warmth of the sun rays on my skin. My wardrobe consists of all things flower printed and short shorts to reflect my I-want-to-go-on-a-adventure-today-but-still-look cute fashion. I greet everyday with an attitude of a high school freshman; hopes too high and innocently naïve.

People say that I radiate this glow of eternal sunshine and project an undeniable spotless mind. Okay, okay you caught me. Eternal Sunshine and the Spotless Mind is my favorite movie. Great, you have potential to be the next Sherlock Holmes. But not for BBC because beloved Benedict already has that shit down. Aside from generating boos from my self appreciating comments, I just want to tell you that I’m not the usual happy-go-lucky bubbly Miss Daisy type. Most of the time, I am my bitter and sarcastic self. I am more of a cigarette, preferably a Camel Crush, with an iced espresso in hand, blasting Nirvana while driving nowhere but where the road takes me, as I ponder on the meaning of my life. More like Miss Independent, Self-Sufficient, and Keep Your Distance. All right, I promise you no more song or movie references or sarcasm.

But to let you on a little secret, promises are meant to be broken.

On my defense, I rather be talking with people who can appreciate my vast knowledge of music and film as well as my high humor (mostly consisted of condescending sarcasm). But like I’ve said before Summer does something to me. I don’t know what it is but just the way it gets so hot during the day but cools down in the night, with that perfect temperature of not too hot and not too cold. There is this still calmness around you as if time has stopped and when you close your eyes all you feel is this intangible feeling of euphoria. You can literally hear the soft singing of the breeze that brushes the skin.

It’s as if Summer is building momentum for a climax, or teasing you by playing hard to get.

I might be romanticizing summer too much but I can’t help to be biased.

I am indeed a Summer child, born right in the middle of July.

